Devotional dippers – review

I have to be honest, when I first saw these in July 2019, I was very sceptical. It should be known, and hopefully as this blog develops, it will become known, that I have an issue with shallow books and resources. I think we too much pander our desire for an easy life and so most books published today are short and shallow. We translate this as ‘accessible’.


The name, devotional dipper, made me think that compared to other devotional materials for families, these would follow that trend and be light. I’ve been very surprised. When I serve my little ones their dinner, I don’t give them different food to me but I do cut it up for them into smaller chunks they can chew and swallow. This is what the devotional dippers do. We’ve been going through the pack on God. What we are getting is a solid, deep and meaty theology of God, cut up small into 40 chunks. Over the course of the past 36 days we have examined the character and work of the Triune God in depth I was not expecting. I’ve even learned things I did not know.

The format is simple. There is statement of truth. A bible passage that links to and supports that statement. A question or two to cement the idea and suggestions for thanksgiving and prayer.

Individually, the dippers have been good but the cumulative effect over the past month has been to build a solid doctrine of God. I am very thankful for this resource and the children love it.

I highly recommend these for family devotionals over breakfast.

https://www.10ofthose.com/uk/products/24362/devotional-dippers-3-pack

Leave a comment